Review: Unteachable

UnteachableTitle: Unteachable
Author: Leah Raeder
Publisher: Velvet Pony Press
Release Date:  July 27th 2013
Genre/Age Group: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Source: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

I met him at a carnival, of all corny places. The summer I turned eighteen, in that chaos of neon lights and cheap thrills, I met a man so sweet, so beautiful, he seemed to come from another world. We had one night: intense, scary, real. Then I ran, like I always do. Because I didn’t want to be abandoned again. But I couldn’t run far enough.
I knew him as Evan that night. When I walked into his classroom, he became Mr. Wilke.
My teacher.
I don’t know if what we’re doing is wrong. The rules say one thing; my heart says screw the rules. I can’t let him lose his job. And I can’t lose him.
In the movies, this would have a happy ending. I grow up. I love, I lose, I learn. And I move on. But this is life, and there’s no script. You make it up as you go along.
And you don’t pray for a happy ending. You pray for it to never end.

As I prayed for this book to never end.  Oh god, what a ride. Wild, tense, frustrating, intimate rollercoaster ride. Are you into feeling? Because that’s what you do when you’re reading this book. FEEL THINGS. Everything is intense, but that’s how it’s like when you’re really living, really loving.

After I finished, I listened to Beloved Freak by Garbage and Yeah Yeah Yeahs “Wedding Song” on repeat, cried while watching the movie Casablanca and just generally felt like I went through a break-up.  Spotify then randomly played Yeezus and I’m over the post breakup phase, anyway.

“My voice had lost all body again, becoming air contained in a thin envelope of words.”

You see that? The writing is so poetic,  light and lovely. You will fall in love with it I’m 100 % sure I mean who could complain!

Let’s take a look at Maise. She’s reckless. The  “I don’t need friends” type of a girl. But she needs someone who will love her. I’ve never read a teacher/student romance as I was repulsed by it at first, but after reading Lolita it’s not really that big of a deal. So I got into it thinking I couldn’t be really disappointed, only pleasantly surprised. And I was, because I didn’t expect to love Unteachable this much. Before I picked it up I had this little image of Evan and Maise being like Ezra and Aria from PLL, but this was soo not like that. The PLL relationship is just childish and ridiculous, this was  intense and emotional.

But the story is not all about them. There is her new nerdy friend Wesley, and we all know how it goes with a friend like that. Hiyam the royal bitch. Maise’s mother the one who screwed up big time.

Maise didn’t have an easy life and you can see that by how she acts and how cynical and “raw” she is now.  Seeing her, Evan and even Maise’s mother grow thorough the book was amazing. Their opinions changing, how Maise and Evan kind of complete each other. How she’s making him embrace his childishness and he’s opening her eyes to what it’s like being grown up. The book was about coming of age and being an adult and about being a child at the same time. And some, probably not really obvious, but some real nice life lessons there. The evident ones being don’t date your teacher, don’t do drugs, don’t sell drugs and use protection.

“Sometimes life just shoveled endless shit in your face until you threw down your spade and said ‘Fuck it, I’ll find another way’.”

There wasn’t an insta love. But there was an insta attraction. Plus Leah even made the intimate scenes beautiful and lyrical.

“Pushed my senses to the tips of my fingers and toes, and felt like I held the world in my hands, a luminous sapphire veined with light and revolving slowly in the sun, ridiculously absurdly beautiful.”

There were just so many sentences that make sense and are relatable and are also very quotable.

“That’s all life is. Breathing in, breathing out. The space between two breaths.”

I could see the horrible ending coming. How the tension was building up. And not sexual tension, although there is plenty of that, too. I had to take regular breaks from reading because I was mentally exhausted and I couldn’t stand it. I can’t stand when something’s gone wrong in books I just can’t. It was hella suspenseful and stressful. I got all these feels and my heart was aching together with Maise’s and I was constantly wondering how’s it going to end and praying it’ll have a happy ending.

“You can call it love, or you can call it freefall. They’re pretty much the same thing.”

I would recommend this book to everyone (except maybe my mum and adults in my life idk). So go grab this book 3,2,1 go buy it right now kindle and paperback and all that go.

This book deserves 5 cookies from me. There is nothing wrong with it and I can’t think of anything that I didn’t like. Except maybe Wesley I hate him. You go Leah Raeder write that new novel of yours, pronto!

20110627003100!Choco_chip_cookie20110627003100!Choco_chip_cookie20110627003100!Choco_chip_cookie20110627003100!Choco_chip_cookie20110627003100!Choco_chip_cookie

Leave a Reply

